News October 2005

Hollywood Icon Diane Keaton, Director Sam Mendes and the Cast of 'Crash' to Get Honors From the 9th Annual Hollywood Film Festival
October 4, 2005
Press Release

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., Oct. 04 /PRNewswire/ -- The Hollywood Film Festival's Board of Advisors has announced that this year's festival will honor Oscar®-winning actress DIANE KEATON with the "Hollywood Career Achievement Award," Academy Award-winning director SAM MENDES with the "Hollywood Director of the Year Award" and the cast of Lions Gate's "CRASH" with the "Hollywood Ensemble Acting of the Year Award."

The awards will be bestowed upon the honorees as part of the Hollywood Awards Gala Ceremony on Monday evening, October 24, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The announcement was made today by Carlos de Abreu, Founder and Executive Director of the Hollywood Film Festival. "Every year we are very proud to honor excellence in the art of filmmaking, and Ms. Keaton, Mr. Mendes and the cast of 'Crash' are great examples of that excellence," said de Abreu.

Academy Award-winning actress DIANE KEATON will soon be seen starring in Fox 2000's "The Family Stone," which is due for release on November 4. Beginning her career in the theater, Diane Keaton's first major role on Broadway was in "Hair." Woody Allen cast her in his Broadway comedy "Play It Again, Sam," which she reprised on film, just after she made her first film, "Lovers and Other Strangers," directed by Cy Howard. Her creative association with Woody Allen resulted in such notable films as "Sleeper," "Love and Death," and "Annie Hall," a role that won her the Oscar®, Golden Globe and other awards. She also starred in Woody Allen's films "Interiors," "Manhattan," "Radio Days," and "Manhattan Murder Mystery." In 1972, Francis Ford Coppola cast Ms. Keaton in "The Godfather," a role she reprised in the second and third "Godfather" films. In 1977 she starred in "Looking for Mr. Goodbar," and she received a second Academy Award nomination for her role in "Reds," opposite Warren Beatty, in 1981. Her third Oscar® nomination came for "Marvin's Room" and her fourth for "Something's Gotta Give," opposite Jack Nicholson. Ms. Keaton's other film credits as an actress include "Town & Country," "The Other Sister," "The First Wives Club," "Father of the Bride," "The Lemon Sisters," "The Good Mother," "Baby Boom," "Crimes of the Heart," "Mrs. Soffel," "The Little Drummer Girl," and "Shoot the Moon," among others. Diane Keaton's first project as a director was the documentary "Heaven." She also directed the critically acclaimed "Unstrung Heroes," as well as the comedy "Hanging Up," in which she co-starred with Meg Ryan, Lisa Kudrow and Walter Matthau. She has also directed episodes of popular TV series and the TV movie "Wildflower." As a producer, Ms. Keaton most recently executive produced Gus Van Sant's feature film "Elephant" and the TV movie "Surrender, Dorothy," in which she also starred.

SAM MENDES is the director of Universal Pictures' "JARHEAD," starring Jake Gyllenhaal, Jamie Foxx and Peter Sarsgaard and due for release November 4. He made his feature film directorial debut with "American Beauty," an Academy Award-winning Best Picture and box office smash which also brought him the Oscar® for Best Director. Sam Mendes's highly acclaimed "Road to Perdition," released in 2002 starring Tom Hanks, Paul Newman and Tyler Hoechlin, received six Academy Award nominations and won one Oscar®. Sam Mendes was already a celebrated theater director when he made his feature film debut, and he has staged award-winning productions in London, New York and around the world. One of his noted triumphs was his revival of the musical "Cabaret" on Broadway, which won four Tonys and numerous other awards. He also earned acclaim for his direction of the Broadway play "The Blue Room," starring Nicole Kidman. Most recently he directed the revival of "Gypsy," starring Bernadette Peters. Born in England, Sam Mendes was educated at Cambridge University and entered the Chichester Festival Theatre after graduation. Subsequently, he joined the Royal Shakespeare Company and later became artistic director of the Donmar Warehouse in London, where he directed numerous award-winning productions. In 2000, he was named Commander of the Order of the British Empire by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II,

"CRASH" -- the challenging and thought-provoking film from Lions Gate Films -- takes a provocative look at the complexities of racial tolerance in America. "Crash" is propelled by a dynamic script from Paul Haggis and Bobby Moresco, direction by Paul Haggis in his feature film directing debut, and stellar performances from the ensemble cast members: SANDRA BULLOCK, DON CHEADLE, MATT DILLON, JENNIFER ESPOSITO, WILLIAM FICHTNER, BRENDAN FRASER, TERRENCE HOWARD, CHRIS "LUDACRIS" BRIDGES, THANDIE NEWTON, MICHAEL PENA, RYAN PHILLIPPE, BAHAR SOOMEKH, LARENZ TATE and SHAUN TOUB.

Other industry professionals who will be honored for their achievements at the Gala Awards Ceremony are Oscar®-winning producer Douglas Wick and producer Lucy Fisher who will receive the "Hollywood Producers of the Year Award," Oscar®-nominated actor Joaquin Phoenix who will be honored with the "Hollywood Actor of the Year Award," Academy Award-winning actress Charlize Theron who will receive the "Hollywood Actress of the Year Award," Tony award-winning actor Matthew Broderick who will be awarded the "Hollywood Supporting Actor of the Year Award," Oscar®-winning actress Susan Sarandon who will receive the "Hollywood Supporting Actress of the Year Award," Jake Gyllenhaal who will be honored with the "Hollywood Breakthrough Actor of the Year Award," actress Rachel McAdams who will receive the "Hollywood Breakthrough Actress of the Year Award," director Paul Haggis who will be honored with the "Hollywood Breakthrough of the Year Award," screenwriter Akiva Goldsman who will be awarded the "Hollywood Screenwriter of the Year Award," Lions Gate Films Releasing President Tom Ortenberg who will be honored with the "Hollywood Leadership Award," Librarian of Congress Dr. James Billington who will receive the "Hollywood Film Preservation Award," Oscar®-nominated cinematographer Pawel Edelman who will be honored with the "Hollywood Cinematographer of the Year Award," Academy Award-winning editor Walter Murch who will be awarded the "Hollywood Editor of the Year Award," award-winning composer Harry Gregson-Williams who will receive the "Hollywood Composer of the Year Award," Academy Award-winning senior visual effects supervisor Dennis Muren who will receive the "Hollywood Visual Effects of the Year Award," special make-up effects supervisor Gregory Nicotero who will be honored with the "Hollywood Make-Up of the Year Award," Academy Award-winning costume designer Colleen Atwood who will be honored with the "Hollywood Costume Designer of the Year Award," Oscar®-winning production designer Grant Major who will receive the "Hollywood Production Designer of the Year Award" and casting director Avy Kaufman. In addition, the "Hollywood Animation of the Year Award" goes to "Howl's Moving Castle," and the "Hollywood Sound of the Year Award," goes to "Batman Begins."

The 2005 Annual Hollywood Film Festival will take place from October 18 to 24. The festival's screenings take place at ArcLight Theatres in Hollywood, and its Hollywood Awards Gala Ceremony will be held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Monday, October 24.

For more information please go to

Source: Hollywood Film Festival

News October 2005

Diane Main

Back to Main Page